Hellenic Sociological Society

The Hellenic Sociological Society was founded in Athens in 2007.  The mission of the society is to promote scientific research in the field of sociology.

Important objectives of the society include:
a) the study of social phenomena and social problems within Greece and globally,
b) the promotion of the study of sociology within the educational system of Greece,
c) the provision of collective and individual support to those who further the field of sociology and
d) the dissemination of sociological knowledge throughout Greek society.

The Hellenic Sociological Society has pursued these objectives in disparate ways.  Events, colloquia, and conferences that have been organized to the present include:

Sociology and Public Discourse, Colloquium, Drakopoulos Amphitheater, University of Athens, November 23, 2007

The contemporary significance of the work of Max Weber, International Conference, S. Karagiorgas Amphitheater, Panteion University, May 30-31,2008

Sociology, Pan-Hellenic Conference, Athens Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Athens, January 16-17, 2009

Civil Society under Duress, Colloquium, Keynote Speaker Professor Peter Waldmann, University of Augsberg.  Goethe Institute, Athens, May 22, 2009
“The Necessity for Comparison: Perspectives on Greek society,” Invited Lecture, Professor Michael Herzfeld, Harvard University. The Old University, Plaka, Athens, June 29, 2009

Risk Society and Challenges of the 21st century, International Conference, Keynote Speaker Professor Ulrich Beck, Titania Hotel, Athens, November 5-7, 2009.

The majority of the members of the society hold a Ph.D. in Sociology from universities of Greece or abroad.

Διοικητικό Συμβούλιο, 2020-22

Νίκος Δεμερτζής - Πρόεδρος, Καθηγητής, Τμήμα Επικοινωνίας και ΜΜΕ, Εθνικό και Καποδιστριακό Πανεπιστήμιο Αθηνών, Διευθυντής και Πρόεδρος του Εθνικού Κέντρου Κοινωνικών Ερευνών / ΕΚΚΕ, ndemert@media.uoa.gr / ndemertzis@ekke.gr
Προσωπική ιστοσελίδα: www.nicolasdemertzis.com

Ιωάννα Τσίγκανου - Αντιπρόεδρος, Διευθύντρια Ερευνών στο Εθνικό Κέντρο Κοινωνικών Ερευνών / ΕΚΚΕ, jtsiganou@ekke.gr

Χριστίνα Καρακιουλάφη - Γραμματέας, Επίκουρη Καθηγήτρια, Τμήμα Κοινωνιολογίας, Πανεπιστήμιο Κρήτης, chkarakioulafi@gmail.com / karakichr@uoc.gr

Απόστολος Γ. Παπαδόπουλος - Ταμίας, Καθηγητής, Τμήμα Γεωγραφίας, Χαροκόπειο Πανεπιστήμιο, Διευθυντής Ινστιτούτου Κοινωνικών Ερευνών στο Εθνικό Κέντρο Κοινωνικών Ερευνών / ΕΚΚΕ, apospapa@hua.gr / apapadopoulos@ekke.gr

Χρύσα Ζάχου - Υπεύθυνη δημοσιευμάτων, Επίκουρη Καθηγήτρια, Τμήμα Κοινωνιολογίας, Αmerican College of Greece–Deree, czachou@gmail.com

Νίκος Ναγόπουλος - Υπεύθυνος θεματικών - επιστημονικών ομάδων, Καθηγητής, Τμήμα Κοινωνιολογίας, Πανεπιστήμιο Αιγαίου, n.nagopoulos@soc.aegean.gr

Παναγιώτης Ζάννης - Υπεύθυνος εκδηλώσεωνΔρ. Κοινωνιολογίας και Κοινωνικής Πολιτικής, zannis1996@gmail.com

Φωτεινή Τζαβέλλα - Μέλος, Επίκουρη Καθηγήτρια, Τμήμα Νοσηλευτικής, Πανεπιστήμιο Πελοποννήσου, tzavella@uop.gr / ftzavella@hotmail.com  

Ανδρομάχη Χατζηγιάννη - Μέλος, Διευθύντρια Ερευνών στο Εθνικό Κέντρο Κοινωνικών Ερευνών / ΕΚΚΕ, ahadji@ekke.gr


Μπορείτε να δείτε το Καταστατικό της Ελληνικής Κοινωνιολογικής Εταιρίας πατώντας εδώ.